French Southern and Antarctic Territories (French: Terres australes et antarctiques françaises, TAAF). To the south of the Indian Ocean is the Saint-Paul and Nouvelle Amsterdam islands, Kerguelen, Crozet, the islands scattered in the Indian Ocean (Juan De Nova, Glorioso, Bassas da India, Europa and Tromelin islands) and Adelie Land in Antarctica. Until 1955, these lands which were connected to Madagascar were converted into a special French territory after this date. The territory, which is connected to a high-level ruler who lives in Paris until 2004, is still ruled by the island of Reunion. Total surface area is 7819 km² except for Adelie Soils. Madagascar, Bassas also claims to be based on the islands of India, Europa, Glorioso and Juan de Nova.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]